Types of Precious Gemstone and How to Choose One

Types of Precious Gemstone and How to Choose One

July 8, 2023 0 By admin

The Four Gemstones

1. Sapphire – Sapphire boasts of a wonderfully blue color which comes from the titanium, chromium and iron component. Some of these stones also come in colors of orange, purple and green. However, the prized ones are of an intense blue or pure blue with just a few shades of violet blended in. The cut and clarity of the sapphire also counts when judging its value. Sapphires have a strong legendary background with some people even believing that the world sits on a giant sapphire with the blue sky a reflection of the gemstone. They are seen as symbols of sincerity, constancy and truth – which is why they are often used as adornments in engagement rings as a sign of loyalty.

2. Diamond – the diamond is definitely one of the most precious Opal gemstones today, often used as a sign of luxury. They are made of pure carbon and is the hardest material on earth. In fact, it can only be cut using another diamond. The value of a diamond is determined through their clarity, carat, cut and color. Today, the precious gemstone symbolizes status, durability and romance. The word itself comes from the root word “Adamas”, a Greek term which means unconquerable.

3. Ruby – Blood red in color, the Ruby precious gemstone gets its color from chromium. It’s actually related to sapphire with a few compositional differences between the two. Rubies often have different zones of color and no bigger than 3 carats. The chrome component is the reason for this as it crates cracks on the gemstone, preventing them from forming into large pieces. Due to their color, Ruby Gemstone are viewed as representations of passion. This makes them an ideal stone for couples.

4. Emerald – A beautiful green in color, emeralds are related to aquamarine and named after the Greek word “smaragdos” which literally means green stone. The color actually comes from small amounts of vanadium and chromium in the green stone. It is interesting to note that emeralds with excellent clarity and color are actually more valuable than diamonds. Historically, the emerald is seen as a healing stone and was even considered holy by the Aztecs. Today, it is the symbol of kindness, purity, harmony, life and nature.

How to choose a Precious Gemstone

When choosing between the different Precious Gemstones, it is important to keep in mind what they would be used for. Some stones are best as engagement gifts while others are ideal for anniversaries. In fact, some of these stones are the exact representation of some wedding milestones.